🔒 The Earwolf Forums are closed Read more... ×
JulyDiaz

Episode 128 - Streets of Fire: LIVE!

If you have not seen them I highly recommend the Lone Wolf and Cub movies. It was made by similar people and around the same time. While both films are violence-wise over the top, Lady Snowblood I think are better films. There is something so over the top and fun I think about Lone Wold and Cub though I always go back to it. It's basically 9 hours of this:

tumblr_m7dx5hipro1qedb29o1_500.gif

Thanks for the tip! I'm familiar with the manga and have read the first couple omnibus volumes, but I haven't seen any of the films. I'm relatively new to discovering the weird/awesome world of Japanese cinema, and I love most of what I've seen from the 60s and 70s. I just saw that there are 6 Lone Wolf and Cub movies, so those all went on the list for sure :)

• Like 2

So after dinner I did some online reading and found out Steinman did write a few songs. Fuck me, I thought I was joking earlier.

I am sure you are well aware, but they have equally out there music too:

And I love it. I have an affinity for really weird music.

Yea, music here use to be a lot more interesting. There have always been pop boy bands and girl bands around but since the rise of AKB48 that's just what has dominated the music scene. Luckily their "boom" seems to be coming to an end so hopefully a return to a more diverse scene. Of course groups like Maximum the Hormone enjoy success they are far from mainstream though so there are always interesting bands just of the beaten path. So when it comes to weird music what aspect of it is most appealing? Weird music videos or just the music itself? I'll pass on whatever I can think of to expand your appreciation of bizarre Japanese music.

For now if you want to stick to Metal-esque music, I recommend the visual-kei band Dir En Grey. I would suggest checking out