🔒 The Earwolf Forums are closed Read more... ×

This! I saw the Last Starfighter post and my immediate reaction was "Wing Commander." And since I'm a well trained noob I searched first before starting a new thread.

• Like 1

I remember that this movie was predicted to have an awesome opening weekend because it had the latest "Phantom Menace" trailer. Yeeeaahhhh, didn't quite turn out that way.

This movie is one of the very few I've actually walked out of the theater and asked for my money back. Not that I GOT it back, mind you, but holy crap.

Yes, it's a video game movie... which should tell you it's gonna suck right out of the chute, but I was young and dumb in 1999. Later I got forced into watching it in a cinematography class (case study in what NOT to do)

HORRID acting, almost hillariously stupid physics... oh, and it rips off Top Gun, Star Wars and every other sci fi movie you've probably ever seen. I'm surprised Rotten Tomatoes even gave it 11%. That seems rather high to me.

You can see the trailer (complete with obligatory 'bullet time' BS) here.

When I was in highschool I took my younger brother to a double-feature movie theater and we saw Baby Geniuses, and then this came on, and my little brother wanted to leave and refused to stay and started crying and stuff, so we left. At the time I was pissed off at him, it wasn't until years later that I realized that he helped me dodge a bullet when I saw this film on cable. Kids some times have the right instinct.

Wait, you stayed through Baby Geniuses and left before Wing Commander and THAT was the right choice? I've never heard anyone say that watching Baby Geniuses all the way through was "dodging a bullet."

• Like 1

Haha. I have a high threshold for bad movies. Baby Geniuses was very dumb, but it was watchable dumb, at least that's how I remember it as a young teenager. Wing Commander to be honest I've only ever seen enough to decide it was painfully dull. I STAND BEHIND MY STATEMENT!

• Like 1