EliGrimes

PLEASE! I NEED HELP WITH CALL IN'S!

Hi,

I am very new to podcasting, so please be kind. My show is not live, it is pre recorded. We would like to have guest call in via the phone or Skype. I will show you a picture of my mixer and I would like someone to explain to me in layman's terms how to make that happen. I would prefer to be able to do this from my iphone, I do not have a second computer. Somehow plug it into the mixer so my co-host and I can hear the caller, the caller can hear us through our microphones (we use channels one and two) and it all goes into Audacity. I have looked this subject up and just do not understand how to make it happen with the equipment I have. The port on an iphone is for headphones only as far as I can tell. Keep in mind that I am on a very tight budget and would appreciate a low cost solution. If not, please tell me the answer, whatever it may be. Is there a simple cord that will do all this? I have zero idea and have become desperate! Haha. Thank you.

Elijah Grimes

I only know my behringer 802 mixer, but the 3rd of the 4 inputs on the board, besides the two microphone inputs, is a left/right 1/4" input. You can get a cable that is 1/4" left/right on one end and a 3/8" input on the other end. They should cost less than 10 bucks and the 3/8" input can plug right into your iPhone or iPad. I use the Skype app on my iPad with headphones plugged into the board, because I like the sound quality of Skype a lot better than a regular phone call.

a3XJVzm.jpg