🔒 The Earwolf Forums are closed Read more... ×
Cameron H.

Musical Mondays Week 73 (Maximilliano’s Pick)

4 minutes ago, IMAHUGEHDTGMFAN said:

On my way home from work... I'll give you my pick soon 

giphy.gif

• Like 2

I have my pick... Saw this movie last year in theaters and felt lukewarm about it... But I think that discussing it with you gals and guys is going to help me make mi mind if I love it or hate it 😉

The movie is the Christmas Zombie Musical Anna and  the ApocalypseAnna_Apocalypse_FINAL-A2peq.jpg

• Like 4

Very cool! I'm not sure I've heard of this one. Sounds interesting :) 

• Like 1

This is available with an Epix subscription. Sounds like I’m due for a 7-day trial 😉

• Like 2

Hi all. I’m new to the musical Mondays group because I am not a musical die-hard. Here are some examples of musicals I like (from both film and theater); Little Shop of Horrors, Sweeney Todd, the South Park movie, The Book of Mormon, Urinetown, Mary Poppins, Singing in the Rain, Ride the Cyclone.

A musical that I respect but did not like at all (this might be controversial): Rent

A musical TV show that I initially liked but began bugging the fuck out of me by its second season: Glee.

I was interested in Anna and the Apocalypse. The premise of a musical + zombies seemed to have that Little Shop of Horrors potential for goofy fun.

I tried, guys. I made it halfway through.

This film felt like the mutant stepchild of Strictly Ballroom, Glee, Dawson’s Creek, Riverdale (maybe? I haven’t actually seen that one), with some Shaun of the Dead-style zombies thrown in.

No, that might make it sound good or at least interesting. Tell you what: picture that stepchild sharting out a half-digested version of the High School Musical films, and that’s what I felt like I was left with.

The “kill the Queen!” Sequence from Shaun of the Dead was infinitely more inspired than anything here. It made me wish they’d just made a musical out of Peter Jackson’s Dead-Alive.