🔒 The Earwolf Forums are closed Read more... ×
sgtcsgrove

New Player help

I am a huge fan of Brian's and started listening to Nerd Poker just because of him, I know find myself really wanting to play D&D. I have looked at the 4th edition red box but have heard many bad things about it. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to start?

Hi. I suggest checking out this site: http://www.rpggamefind.com/. You can search for a game locally to join and in most cases you'll find a group that is willing to take on a newbie. I started playing again early this year after a 20 year "break" and was able to put together a group of 6 in my area. We're playing 4the edition and while it does have a bit more of a board game feel I do think, personally, that it's easier than 2nd edition to play. The key is a good group. You have a good group and you'll have a blast regardless. PM me if you have any questions.

• Like 1

The encounters are a little on the, well, meh side but definitely a good way to get started without jumping right into a full blown group. They lack the ability to really build up a character and mold his/her attitude, interests and style. But if you're in an area with no games and your friends aren't interested, it's a great way to get started.

I started playing for the first time a few weeks ago, after finding a D&D Encounters in my neighborhood. It was a good way to learn the game. I bought the Players Handbook off of Ebay for $5 and a subscription to D&D Insider.

The problem I have right now is that D&D Encounters group is nothing but 10-15 year olds. Being 30 years old, it kinda makes it a bit less fun, especially since a lot of the players are only using melee or ranged basic attacks and have no idea what's going on with their character sheet.

I am taking the time to read through the Dungeon Master Guide and writing my own adventures so that I may put together a game with people closer to my age group.